Welcome to the Livingston County Web Site... call us at 660-646-8000!

Close This Window
Print This Window


C-T, April 7, 2011

Several elections took place, and votes were placed on tax levies, across the Chillicothe and surrounding areas on Tuesday, April 5. Here is a quick rundown of the results of the different races voters encountered at the polls during election day:

Several local townships voted in new officers.

The Chillicothe Township voted in Frank Thompson for a two-year term at Trustee, with a tally of 1,044 votes in his favor. Two board members - Ronald Hughes and Brian Bowmam - were voted in, as well, along with Brandy S. Wedlock as clerk. Hughes won the board vote with 819 votes (52.17 percent), while Bowman took home 749 of his own, or 47.71 percent. There were two separate write-in votes cast in said election. Wedlock grabbed 100 percent of the vote for clerk, counting 1,074 tallies Tuesday night.

The Mooresville Township and Rich Hill Township had the only other trustee and board member elections with candidates listed on their ballots. Saraha BeVelle's 93.1 percent of the vote (54) gave her the Mooresville Trustee position (with four write-in votes being cast, or 6.9 percent). George F. Roberts, IV and Floyd "Butch" Thomas took the board seats for that township. Thomas took the popular vote, barely eeking out Roberts, IV, 63-61. Since two board members were needed to fill the vacant seats, though, both were elected to office. Two write-in votes were also cast in this election. Rich Hill Township's Aaron Peel took one of their two open board seats, gathering 74.6 percent of the vote (47 votes). The second slot was to be filled via write-in. Sixteen votes were cast, or 25.4 percent, in terms of the two-year-term board write-in.

Four townships took a vote on continued tax levies in their respective areas.

  • Blue Mound Township voted to keep a $0.3228 levy on the current tax rate for the $100 valuation over a period of four years (90 votes for, 15 against).
  • Jackson Township did the same with a $0.34 levy (60 for, four against), Medicine Township for $0.30 (21 for, two against), and Rich Hill Township, $0.3354 (57 votes for, and 14 votes against).

The Town of Ludlow elected two board members to two-year terms. On the ballot were Alan Miles (who won the popular vote at 55.17 percent) and Whitney Miles (whose 13 votes put her at 44.83).

The Village of Utica voted in three new members to their board of trustees. James Clemens took the popular vote, with 34.12 percent (29 votes). Jeff McCoy's 24 votes (or 28.24 percent) barely slotted him in second, in front of Jason Moore, at 23 votes (27.06 percent). Five votes went to one write-in candidate, while four were placed for another.

The City of Wheeling held three uncontested races in their hunt for city offices. Darrin Fravel won the mayoral vote, grabbing all 23 of the votes cast in that race. Kenny Mitchell's 11 votes secured him the council person slot for the east ward, and Gary Wayman's 11, the council person position for the west ward.

Return to Top

Livingston County Courthouse
700 Webster Street
Chillicothe, MO 64601